@BCClibrary

Summer Session Library Services

***Updated 9/2/20 to delete expired resources and add new ones.***

While BCC Library remains closed to all users (President Smith will reopen BCC Library in coordination with other local libraries, once the governor's office has declared it safe to do so), library staff are still working diligently behind the scenes to provide seamless library services remotely during the summer session!

Remote library services include:

• Research help from Liza on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, and Saturdays, from 12 to 7:30pm, via the Library Portal chat; help is available from Chatstaff Librarians at all other times.
• One-on-one virtual research appointments (by phone, Skype, email, chat, etc.) with Liza on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, and Saturdays, from 12 to 7:30pm; appointments can be requested via this link (http://brunswickcc.libcal.com/appointments/).
• Off-campus access to library databases.
  • BCC students and BCECHS students should now be able to log in using either the "BCC Username" or "No BCC username" option. If you elect to use the "BCC Username" option, please keep in mind that you will need to input your full new BCC email address (i.e., user99999@brunswickcc.edu), followed by your current BCC password when prompted. If you choose the "No BCC username" option, enter the number beneath the barcode on the back of your BCC student ID (ignoring any letters if your barcode number happens to have them). For more information about library logins, please see this updated blog post (https://brunswickcc.libguides.com/blog/Single-Sign-on-Is-Here). And if you experience any problems logging in, please email Liza (palmerl AT brunswickcc.edu) or fill out this form (https://brunswickcc.libwizard.com/f/proxy). 
• Current BCC students needing to utilize computers and/or internet on campus can visit the ACE (upstairs, Building A) Monday-Thursday, 10am-2pm. 

Also, because of the COVID-19 crisis, many publishers are providing free temporary access to ebooks, journals, magazines, and newspapers to support online learning for students.  As we learn of new resources, we will add them to this blog post -- so please consider bookmarking it for future reference!:

AIP Publishing
(A "collection of articles on infectious diseases, epidemics, computational epidemiology, and pandemics free to read"; access end date TBD)
https://publishing.aip.org/publications/journals/covid-19/

American Chemical Society
(A free-to-read virtual issue, "Chemistry in Coronavirus Research"; access end date TBD)
https://pubs.acs.org/page/vi/chemistry_coronavirus_research?utm_source=pubs_content_marketing&utm_medium=axial&utm_campaign=0120_JHS_coronavirus&ref=pubs_content_marketing

American Medical Association
("Browse the JAMA Network COVID-19 collection below, including Q&A's with NIAID's Anthony Fauci, an interactive map of the outbreak courtesy of The Johns Hopkins Center for Systems Science and Engineering, and past publications on vaccine development, infection control, and public health preparedness"; access end date TBD)
https://jamanetwork.com/journals/jama/pages/coronavirus-alert

American Physiological Society
("[A]rticles discussing COVID-19, coronavirus, SARS, and other related research are being made freely accessible in this cross-journal collection" access end date TBD)
https://journals.physiology.org/covid19

American Psychological Association
("Continually updated by APA for psychologists, health-care workers and the public"; access end date TBD)
https://www.apa.org/topics/covid-19

ASTM International
("ASTM International is providing no-cost public access to important ASTM standards used in the production and testing of personal protective equipment - including face masks, medical gowns, gloves, and hand sanitizers"; registration required for free access; access end date TBD)
https://www.astm.org/COVID-19/

BioOne 
("In collaboration with the Association of Research Libraries, BioOne and our publishers have made articles related to coronavirus in the following journals available via open access" until December 31, 2020)
https://complete.bioone.org/covid-19

The BMJ
("BMJ's covid-19 hub supports health professionals and researchers with practical guidance, online CPD courses, as well as the latest news, comment, and research from BMJ. The content is free and updated daily"; access end date TBD)
https://www.bmj.com/coronavirus

Brill COVID-19 Collection
(Open access to 59+ ebooks on epidemics, containment strategies, homeschooling, distance learning, and crisis response; access end date April 30, 2021)
https://www2.brill.com/COVID-19_Collection

Cochrane
(Open access to COVID-19-related health information and publications; access end date TBD)
https://www.cochrane.org/coronavirus-covid-19-cochrane-resources-and-news

East View Information Services
("[F]ree temporary access for institutions to a number of resources"; access end date TBD)
https://www.eastview.com/covid-19-resources/

EBSCO
(Open access tp COVID-19 information; access end date TBD)
https://covid-19.ebscomedical.com/

EDP Sciences
(Open access to 2018-2020 sciences/social sciences/humanities journals until June 30, 2020)
https://publications.edpsciences.org/#!s=current&a=free&l=en

Érudit
(Open access to 65+ journals temporarily freely available on a variety of subjects; access end date TBD)
https://www.erudit.org/en/journals/?special_open_access_opt_in=on&collections=unb&collections=erudit

Film/AV Collections of FIAF Affiliates Online
("Links to free online streaming services used by FIAF affiliates to provide convenient access to their audiovisual collections")
https://www.fiafnet.org/pages/E-Resources/Film-AV-Collections-Online.html

Future Science Group
(Open access to COVID-19-related content; access end date TBD)
https://www.id-hub.com/2020/03/17/in-focus-coronavirus/

GeoScience World (GSW)
(Open access to 26000+ chapters in 1600+ Earth sciences books from 9 publishers until June 30, 2020) 
https://pubs.geoscienceworld.org/search-results?access_free=true&fl_ContentType=Book+OR+Book+Chapter&searchType=advanced&adv=true

Getty Publications
("More than 300 of our books to read and download for free"; access end date TBD)
http://www.getty.edu/publications/virtuallibrary/

IEEE
(Open access to COVID-19-related content; access end date TBD)
https://ieeexplore.ieee.org/search/searchresult.jsp?newsearch=true&queryText=%22Custom%20Search%22:COVID-19

Infobase
(Access to a few databases: Access Video On Demand: Just for Kids and Archival Films & Newsreels Collection; username=distancelearning/password=trial)
http://online.infobaselearning.com/Default.aspx

Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS)
(Links to resources "made available by organizations serving the museum and library communities"; access end date TBD)
https://www.imls.gov/coronavirus-covid-19-updates/covid-19-resources-libraries-and-museums

JSTOR
("26 newly released Public Health journals available for free access through December 31, 2020")
https://about.jstor.org/l/public-health/?utm_term=26%20archive%20journals%20in%20Public%20Health

Karger
(Open access to COVID-19-related content until December 31, 2020)
https://www.karger.com/Tap/Home/278492​

Mary Ann Liebert
(Open access to COVID-19-related content; access end date TBD)
https://home.liebertpub.com/lpages/-coronavirus-science-backed-research/250/

The New England Journal of Medicine
("A collection of articles and other resources on the Coronavirus (Covid-19) outbreak, including clinical reports, management guidelines, and commentary"; access end date TBD)
https://www.nejm.org/coronavirus

Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)
(" The OECD is compiling data, analysis and recommendations on a range of topics to address the emerging health, economic and societal crisis, facilitate co-ordination, and contribute to the necessary global action when confronting this enormous collective challenge."; access end date TBD)
http://www.oecd.org/coronavirus/en/

Oxford Academic
(Open access to articles related to Coronavirus; access end date TBD)
https://academic.oup.com/journals/pages/coronavirus

Proceedings of the National Academy of Science (PNAS)
("All COVID-19 and coronavirus-related news, commentary, research and data is freely available to the public"; access end date TBD)
https://www.pnas.org/page/coronavirus

Project MUSE
(Ebooks and journals on a variety of subjects; access end date varies by publisher)
https://muse.jhu.edu/search?action=browse&limit=subscription:y&limit=format:book,journal&sort=launch%20desc&min=1&max=10&t=format_facet_select

Radiological Society of North America
(Open access to COVID-19-related econtent; access end date TBD)
https://pubs.rsna.org/2019-ncov_articles

RavenPack 
(A Coronavirus news monitor; access end date TBD)
https://coronavirus.ravenpack.com/

Royal Society of Chemistry
(Register for a free account to access COVID-19-related econtent; access end date TBD)
https://pubs.rsc.org/en/Journals/ArticleCollectionLanding?themeId=1eac56a1-4121-43c5-b3ec-3d6f9d9226fb&journalName

Royal Society Publishing
(Open access to COVID-19-related articles in the sciences; access end date TBD)
https://royalsocietypublishing.org/topic/special-collections/novel-coronavirus-outbreak

SAGE
("Free Medical, Social, and Behavioral Science Articles from SAGE Publishing"; access end date TBD)
https://journals.sagepub.com/coronavirus

Science
("The Science journals are striving to provide the best and most timely research, analysis, and news coverage of COVID-19 and the coronavirus that causes it. All content is free to access"; access end date TBD)
https://www.sciencemag.org/collections/coronavirus?intcmp=ghd_cov

Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics
("The SIAM Epidemiology Collection has been made freely available in response to the outbreak of the novel coronavirus SARS-CoV-2 and the associated disease COVID-19"; access end date TBD)
https://epubs.siam.org/page/EpidemiologyCollection

Taylor & Francis 
("Taylor & Francis is making relevant research articles free to access in order to support the global effort to diagnose, treat, prevent COVID-19"; access end date TBD)
https://www.tandfonline.com/page/covid19

Taylor & Francis COVID-19 Microsite
("This microsite provides links and references to all relevant COVID-19 research articles, book chapters and information that can be freely accessed on Taylor & Francis Online and Taylor & Francis ebooks in support of the global efforts in diagnosis, treatment, prevention and further research into COVID-19"; access end date TBD)
https://taylorandfrancis.com/coronavirus/

University of Calgary Press
(Open access books; access end date TBD)
https://press.ucalgary.ca/open-access/

United Nations Publications
(Complimentary access to COVID-19 related resources and works; access end date TBD)
https://www.un-ilibrary.org/search?value1=COVID-19&option1=quicksearch&facetOptions=51&facetNames=pub_igoId_facet&operator51=AND&option51=pub_igoId_facet&value51=%27igo%2Funp%27&publisherId=%2Fcontent%2Figo%2Funp&searchType=quick 

University of Minnesota Press
(Reading for Racial Justice titles free to read until August 31, 2020)
https://manifold.umn.edu/projects/project-collection/racial-justice

Wolters Kluwer
(Free access to "latest COVID-19 Resource Updates"; access end date TBD)
http://healthclarity.wolterskluwer.com/coronavirus-resources.html

Stay healthy and safe, everyone!  We look forward to working with you again in person soon!  Until then, happy summer!