Library Portal: African American Read-In: Overview

Black History Month Gallery

Hitting a Straight Lick with a Crooked Stick cover

Wayward Lives, Beautiful Experiments cover

The Rebellious Life of Mrs. Rosa Parks (Young Readers Edition) cover

What Doesn't Kill You Makes You Blacker cover

Navigation

About | Program | Databases | Internet Sources

About

"The National African American Read-In is a groundbreaking effort to encourage communities to read together, centering African American books and authors. It was established in 1990 by the Black Caucus of the National Council of Teachers of English to make literacy a significant part of Black History Month."

BCC will be hosting its second annual African American Read-In -- via Zoom -- on Monday, February 21, 2022, starting at 1pm. This will be a joint event with BCC's African American Book Club. Join us to discuss the shared text; then please consider reading your favorite poem, song, or excerpt by a Black author with the assembled group at that time! Need ideas for texts to read? See the recommended databases and internet sources below!

To sign up in advance, please complete this form: https://brunswickcc.libwizard.com/f/aari

For more information, including the Zoom link, please email Taylor Parson (parsonk@brunswickcc.edu).

2022 Program

Welcoming Remarks
Discussion of African American Book Club Text: "Talma Gordon" by Pauline E. Hopkins (skip to page 15 in the PDF)
- Pauline Elizabeth Hopkins by Taylor Parson (see link to PDF below)
Scheduled Readers
- Liza Palmer, "Grateful for Gina" by Phillip Shabazz
- Carmen Ellis, "thank u, next" by Tayla Parx
Drop-In Readers

Pauline Elizabeth Hopkins
A PDF by Taylor Parson.

Databases

African American Poetry This link opens in a new window
Poems from 1750 to 1900 including Lucy Terry Prince, Phillis Wheatley, Jupiter Hammon, Paul Laurence Dunbar, and more. (NC LIVE)
Dogwood Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Click on Subjects in the top right corner, then try "African American Fiction" or "African American Nonfiction."
Twentieth-Century African American Poetry This link opens in a new window
Sixty-two of the most important African American poets of the last century: Langston Hughes, Jean Toomer, Imamu Amiri Baraka, Audre Lorde, and Rita Dove. (NC LIVE)

Internet Sources

Black History Month: Woke Lyrics by Black Artists
"Black History Month is about celebrating the achievements of African Americans and recognizing the central role black people and black culture has played in the history of the United States. It is also a time for reflection and enlightenment, no matter your race, in hopes of promoting equality for everyone."
Black History Month | Academy of American Poets
"To celebrate Black History Month in February—and the rich tradition of American poetry all year long—browse essays on literary milestones and movements, find important books on black history and poetics, look for lesson plans for Black History Month, read archival letters from classic Black poets, and search poems about the Black experience by both classic and contemporary poets."
Celebrating Black History Month | Poetry Foundation
"Poems, articles, and podcasts that explore African American history and culture."
The Farrell J. Chiles Collection (PDF)
"The Farrell J. Chiles Collection list of books pertaining to African American political biographies, autobiographies, and related subjects."
An Introduction to the Black Arts Movement | Poetry Foundation
"Showcasing one of the most influential cultural movements of the last 50 years."
An Introduction to the Harlem Renaissance | Poetry Foundation
"Tracing the poetic work of this crucial cultural and artistic movement."
National African American Read-In Favorites (PDF)
"NCTE Annual Convention attendees were asked to share their favorite book(s) written by an African American author."
National African American Read-In Frequently Read Books (PDF)
"The following list contains works that were frequently read based on the host reports submitted by coordinators of African American Read-Ins."
Poetry and the Civil Rights Movement | Poetry Foundation
"The struggle for social justice remembered through poetry."
Supplemental List for Young Adults and Adults (PDF)
"The following list contains selected works recommended by Black Caucus members. There are many other books by African Americans which we encourage you to read; this is a starter list and not intended to be all inclusive of other excellent works by African Americans. Join in and continue to enrich your lives after February by reading books by African Americans."
Supplemental List for Young Children (PDF)
"The following list contains selected works for young children recommended by Black Caucus members. This is a starter list and not intended to be all inclusive. In addition to this list, we recommend the following resource for a list of books: Black Issues Book Review."