BIO 112: General Biology II: Useful Links

The Animal Diversity Web is an online database and encyclopedia of animal natural history, built through contributions from students, photographers, and many others.

Find resources on genetics, cell biology, evolution, plants, ecology, earth science, human health, and neuroscience.

The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the United States and its territories. It includes names, plant symbols, checklists, distributional data, species abstracts, characteristics, images, crop information, automated tools, web links, and references.

Science.gov provides access to millions
of authoritative scientific research results from U.S. federal agencies.

The Tree of Life Web Project (ToL) is a collaborative effort of biologists and nature enthusiasts from around the world. On more than 10,000 World Wide Web pages, the project provides information about biodiversity, the characteristics of different groups of organisms, and their evolutionary history (phylogeny).

The Biodiversity Heritage Library improves research methodology by collaboratively making biodiversity literature openly available to the world as part of a global biodiversity community.

Encyclopedia of Life gathers, generates, and shares knowledge in an open, freely accessible and trusted digital resource.

An authoritative classification and catalog of marine names.

The NCBI taxonomy database attempts to incorporate phylogenetic and taxonomic knowledge from a variety of sources, including the published literature, web-based databases, and the advice of sequence submitters and outside taxonomy experts.