Criminal Justice Technology: Useful Links

"The American Society of Criminology is an international organization whose members pursue scholarly, scientific, and professional knowledge concerning the measurement, etiology, consequences, prevention, control, and treatment of crime and delinquency."

AmericanViolence.org "is designed as a public resource that will make data on violence accessible to public officials, journalists, researchers, and the public at large, allowing users to visualize and analyze trends in violence at multiple geographic levels (neighborhoods and cities) and over different timeframes (month to month, year to year, decade to decade)."

The mission of the Bureau of Justice is to "collect, analyze, publish, and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government. These data are critical to federal, state, and local policymakers in combating crime and ensuring that justice is both efficient and evenhanded."

The Counted is "working to count the number of people killed by police and other law enforcement agencies in the United States throughout 2015 and 2016, to monitor their demographics and to tell the stories of how they died."

"TCR is a non-partisan, collaborative effort by two national organizations that focus on quality criminal justice journalism: The Center on Media, Crime and Justice at John Jay College, the nation’s leading practice-oriented think tank on crime and justice reporting, and Criminal Justice Journalists, the nation’s only membership organization of crime-beat journalists."

CrimeSolutions.gov provides two components: "a web-based clearinghouse of programs and practices and a process for identifying and rating those programs and practices."

"The Criminal Justice Research Network on SSRN is an open access preprint server that provides a venue for authors to showcase their research papers in our digital library, speeding up the dissemination and providing the scholarly community access to groundbreaking working papers and early-stage research."

Access to criminal justice articles and research.

"These data reports provide information concerning the types of crimes committed, the offenders who commit those crimes, the punishments imposed, and the manner in which the sentencing guidelines were applied."

"The Death Penalty Information Center is a national non-profit organization serving the media and the public with analysis and information on issues concerning capital punishment."

"To protect the American people and uphold the Constitution of the United States."

The FBI's "FOIA Library, containing 6,700 documents and other media that have been scanned from paper into digital copies."

"The Forensic Science Research Network on SSRN is an open-access preprint server that provides a venue for authors to showcase their research papers in our digital library, speeding up the dissemination and providing the scholarly community access to groundbreaking working papers, early-stage research, and even peer-reviewed or published journal articles."

"This database contains gray literature publications on all aspects of crime and criminal justice that are available online or in the Don M. Gottfredson Library of Criminal Justice."

"The Washington Post collected data on almost 55,000 criminal homicides over the past decade in 55 of the largest American cities."

"The Justice Research and Statistics Association (JRSA) is a national nonprofit organization dedicated to the use of nonpartisan research and analysis to inform criminal and juvenile justice decisionmaking."

Searchable, open access, full-text articles on law.

"The Legal Scholarship Network on SSRN is an open access preprint server that provides a venue for authors to showcase their research papers in our digital library, speeding up the dissemination and providing the scholarly community access to groundbreaking working papers and early-stage research."

"Measures for Justice (MFJ) was founded in 2011 to develop a data-driven set of performance measures to assess and compare the criminal justice process from arrest to post-conviction on a county-by-county basis. The data set comprises measures that address three broad categories: Fiscal Responsibility, Fair Process, and Public Safety."

"NACJD is home to several large-scale and well known datasets, including the National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS), the FBI's Uniform Crime Reports (UCR), the FBI's National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS), and the Project on Human Development in Chicago Neighborhoods (PHDCN)."

"The National Criminal Justice Association exists to promote the development of justice systems in states, tribal nations, and units of local government that enhance public safety; prevent and reduce the harmful effects of criminal and delinquent behavior on victims, individuals, and communities; adjudicate defendants and sanction offenders fairly and justly; and that are effective and efficient."

"[T]he National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) is a federally funded resource offering justice and drug-related information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide."

"The home of the U.S. Government’s open data."

The Stanford Open Policing Project's "goal is to help researchers, journalists, and policymakers investigate and improve interactions between police and the public."

The mission of the U.S. Department of Justice is to "enforce the law and defend the interests of the United States according to the law; to ensure public safety against threats foreign and domestic; to provide federal leadership in preventing and controlling crime; to seek just punishment for those guilty of unlawful behavior; and to ensure fair and impartial administration of justice for all Americans."

"The program has been the starting place for law enforcement executives, students of criminal justice, researchers, members of the media, and the public at large seeking information on crime in the nation."

Find other useful links related to criminology and criminal justice in BCC's BLET Program Guide.

Official site for the North Carolina Department of Public Safety.

Official site of the North Carolina Department of Adult Correction.