Information Technology: Useful Links

"The National Museum of American History's Chip Collection consists of individual donations of objects, images and documentation that traces the history of integrated circuits."

"Learn to code interactively, for free."

"The U.S. Census Bureau has been collecting data on computers and Internet use sporadically since 1984 in the Current Population Survey (CPS)."

"The Computer History Collection includes artifacts relating to the production, collection, modification, manipulation, and use of information in modern American society."

"The Computer History Museum is a nonprofit organization with a four-decade history as the world’s leading institution exploring the history of computing and its ongoing impact on society."

"The Computer Science Research Network on SSRN is an open access preprint server that provides a venue for authors to showcase their research papers in our digital library, speeding up the dissemination and providing the scholarly community access to groundbreaking working papers, early stage research and even peer reviewed or published journal articles."

"ComputerWork was founded in 1995 in the US and quickly became the Internet's leading IT employment web site across the United States."

"CoRR allows researchers to search, browse and download papers through its online repository. CoRR is available to all members of the community at no charge."

Searchable, open access, full-text articles on computer science.

"FOLDOC is a computing dictionary."

"Guild members are creative professionals and those studying to become creative professionals. We serve graphic and interactive designers, illustrators, animators, web programmers and developers."

"The Information Systems & eBusiness Network on SSRN is an open access preprint server that provides a venue for authors to showcase their research papers in our digital library, speeding up the dissemination and providing the scholarly community access to groundbreaking working papers and early-stage research."

"The International Game Developers Association (IGDA) is the largest non-profit membership organization in the world serving all individuals who create games."

"IWA, a non-profit professional association, is the industry’s recognized leader in providing educational and certification standards for Web professionals."

"Khan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom."

"Triumph of the Nerds: The Rise of Accidental Empires zooms backwards on the information superhighway to show in vivid detail how youthful amateurs, hippies and self-proclaimed 'nerds' accidentally changed the world."