Library Portal: CHM: Home

Check out the audiobook of The Disappearing Spoon via Dogwood Digital Library!

Summon

Use library databases -- resist Google!
Don’t be afraid to play around with your terms – they do make a difference.
Review preliminary results (titles, abstracts, keywords) to see if there are better terms to describe what you are trying to find.
Look at the references of relevant articles.
Contact the librarian or use the teal teardrop on the library portal "Chat Now" to talk to a librarian 24/7 for help if you are not finding anything on your topic!
And never ever (ever) pay for research!!!

Chemistry Research Guide | UNC Charlotte J. Murrey Atkins Library
"A general guide for chemistry resources."
Evaluating Web Sites | UNC Charlotte J. Murrey Atkins Library
Helpful tips for assessing the reliability/relevancy of web resources.
Guide for Writing in Chemistry | Southwestern University
A handy how-to guide by Dr. Michael Gesinski about writing on chemistry topics.
How to Read a Scientific Paper: Science Buddies
A nice, concise overview on the differences between primary sources and review articles in the sciences -- offers good tips on how to identify a primary research article.
Undergraduate Research in Chemistry Guide | ACS
An overview about the benefits of working on chemistry research projects as an undergraduate.

Biological Science Database
Research on animal behavior, aquatic life and fisheries, biochemistry, ecology, plant science, toxicology, virology, microbiology, health and safety science, entomology, and more. (NC LIVE)
ProQuest Central
General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals, and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works. (NC LIVE)
Science Database
Applied and general science articles covering topics such as global warming, alternative energy sources, robotic engineering, genetically modified food, and more. (NC LIVE)
Science | Gale in Context
Understand context for hundreds of science topics through overviews, journals, news, interactive experiments, and more. (Gale)

Biochemistry Research Network
"The Biochemistry Research Network on SSRN is an open access preprint server that provides a venue for authors to showcase their research papers in our digital library, speeding up the dissemination and providing the scholarly community access to groundbreaking working papers and early-stage research."
Chemical Name Search
"Search for Species Data by Chemical Name."
Chemistry Research Network
"The Chemistry Research Network on SSRN is an open access preprint server that provides a venue for authors to showcase their research papers in our digital library, speeding up the dissemination and providing the scholarly community access to groundbreaking working papers and early-stage research."
ChemSpider
"ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 100 million structures from hundreds of data sources."
PubChem
"PubChem is an open chemistry database at the National Institutes of Health (NIH)."