Library Portal: General Education: Home

Learn how to log into library resources off campus!

General Education Textbooks on Reserve @ BCC Library

Based on Brunswick Community College's 2017-18 Catalog and Student Handbook: Courses and Programs: Volume XXVIII, BCC Library has textbooks* for the following courses required for the General Education degree program:

ACA 115
CIS 110
ENG 111
ENG 112
ENG 114

*Always check editions against the class syllabus.

NC LIVE Handout

NC LIVE Handout (PDF)

Gale Handout

Gale Handout (PDF)

General Education Databases @ BCC Library

Articles

Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Quickly access articles from a database of scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals. Best for academic research. Extensive coverage in biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology. (Gale)
Gale General OneFile This link opens in a new window
Access general interest magazines and key serials in a single resource. Best for general research. (Gale)
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Find articles from peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers on all subjects. (NC LIVE)
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines covering a wide variety of academic disciplines accessible to readers and researchers at every level. (NC LIVE)
College | Gale in Context This link opens in a new window
An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on a wide array of subjects. (Gale)

Career

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center This link opens in a new window
Explore industries and careers, plan education, take career assessments, and research best practices for résumés, cover letters, interviewing, networking, and salaries/benefits. (NC LIVE)
Occupational Outlook Handbook This link opens in a new window
Profiles with information about hundreds of occupations. (NC LIVE)
Vocations and Careers | Gale OneFile This link opens in a new window
Research a vocation, find an appropriate institution of learning, and get assistance on job searches and maintaining a career. (Gale)

eBooks

Bloomsbury Collection This link opens in a new window
Collection of ebooks covering history and literary criticism. Includes a large collection of slave narratives.
Ebook Central Academic and Public Library Complete This link opens in a new window
Find scholarly eBooks on all subjects. Scholarly titles supporting student and faculty research, and general nonfiction on topics such as school & studying, career development, arts & leisure, and practical life skills. (NC LIVE)
eBooks on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Over 26,000 fiction, reference, scholarly, and professional books online. (NC LIVE)

Pro/Con

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Find pro/con essays and background information about current events, with in-depth coverage of issues, such as health, education, the environment, technology, and the US economy. (NC LIVE)
Global Issues | Gale in Context This link opens in a new window
Analyze important global issues and events through topic overviews, international viewpoints, news, and multimedia content. (Gale)
Opposing Viewpoints | Gale in Context This link opens in a new window
Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues. (Gale)
SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
Research the pros and cons of current issues and enduring social issues through full-text articles, multimedia, primary sources, government documents, and reference materials. (NC LIVE)

Reference

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
A virtual reference collection that includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, images, videos, and research tutorials, (NC LIVE)
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias and reference sources that cover a variety of topics. For multidisciplinary research. (Gale)

Videos

Films on Demand Video Collection This link opens in a new window
Find documentaries and educational videos on many subjects. Includes Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning content. Videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. (NC LIVE)

General Education Internet Sources

Directory of Open Access Journals
"DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals."
edX
Free online courses from edX, "the only leading MOOC provider that is both nonprofit and open source."
Goodreads
"Goodreads is the world’s largest site for readers and book recommendations. Our mission is to help people find and share books they love."
Google Arts & Culture
"Google Arts & Culture features content from over 1200 leading museums and archives who have partnered with the Google Cultural Institute to bring the world's treasures online."
Job Openings
Job openings: NC state government jobs, America's Job Bank, and additional job search resources.
Khan Academy
"Khan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom."
MIT OpenCourseWare
"MIT OpenCourseWare (OCW) is a web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content. OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity."
OpenLearn
"OpenLearn aims to break the barriers to education by reaching millions of learners around the world, providing free educational resources."
OpenStax CNX
"OpenStax CNX is designed to encourage the sharing and reuse of educational content," providing access to free textbooks on a variety of subjects.
ProCon.org
"ProCon.org, a 501(c)(3) nonprofit nonpartisan public charity, provides professionally-researched pro, con, and related information on more than 50 controversial issues from gun control and death penalty to illegal immigration and alternative energy. Using the fair, FREE, and unbiased resources at ProCon.org, millions of people each year learn new facts, think critically about both sides of important issues, and strengthen their minds and opinions."
Project Gutenberg
"Project Gutenberg offers over 53,000 free ebooks: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online."
SparkNotes
"SparkNotes is a resource you can turn to when you're confuzzled. We help you understand books, write papers, and study for tests."
TED
"TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less)."

General Education: Home

General Education Books @ BCC Library