Articles from topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering, and more. (NC LIVE)
Political science and international relations journals, dissertations, and working papers on topics such as comparative politics, political economy, international development, and environmental policy. (NC LIVE)
History and literature ebooks, including the series Daily Life, Critical Companions, Literature in Context, as well as American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography. (NC LIVE)
Scholarly titles supporting student and faculty research, and general nonfiction on topics such as school & studying, career development, arts & leisure, and practical life skills. (NC LIVE)
A premier virtual reference collection including encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, images, audio files, and videos in a wide expanse of subject areas. (NC LIVE)
Treasury of American genealogical sources: unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids. Includes historical census, PERSI, Revolutionary War records, and more. (NC LIVE)
Women's writings from the Colonial period to 1950. Includes writings by Abigail Adams, Louisa May Alcott, Susan B. Anthony, Clara Barton, Dorothea L. Dix, Julia Ward Howe, and more. (NC LIVE)
Digital Sanborn Maps (1867-1970) for North Carolina delivers detailed property and land-use records that depict the grid of everyday life in 158 North Carolina towns and cities across a century of change. (NC LIVE)
Digital Sanborn Maps (1867-1970) for North Carolina provides digital access to 816 large-scale maps of 158 North Carolina towns and cities, including Asheville, Charlotte, Durham, Raleigh, Winston-Salem and many others. Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps are the most frequently consulted maps in public and academic libraries. Founded in 1867 by D. A. Sanborn, the Sanborn Map Company was the primary American publisher of fire insurance maps for nearly 100 years. The maps were originally compiled to help insurers assess the value of property, identify risk factors, and underwrite losses. These maps contain detailed data such as building outlines, size, use, construction details, and function of structures. They also give street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, house and block numbers, and other features like pipelines, railroads, wells and dumps. Historians, urban planners, architects, environmentalists, geographers, genealogists, and others will find the maps a valuable tool for exploring the grid of everyday life in the United States across a century of change.
Thousands of high-quality videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. Includes Oscar-, Emmy-, and Peabody-award winning documentaries, interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches, and newsreels. Also includes content formerly in the NC LIVE Video Collection. (NC LIVE)
