Library Portal: Health Information Technology: Home

Learn how to log into library resources off campus!

Navigation

Databases: Anatomy - Articles - Diseases - Drugs - eBooks - Tests | Internet Sources

Health Information Technology Databases @ BCC Library

Anatomy

Anatomy.tv | Powered by Primal Pictures This link opens in a new window
Click on "Anatomy and Physiology" from the menu of options to access the resource, which is "[f]or people at the start of their medical career, a guided learning resource with ground-breaking content and easily digested bite‑size topics that tell you everything you need to know about A&P. Clinical sections, case studies, the effects of aging and quizzes make this a product like no other." (Not a Gale or NC LIVE resource)

Articles

Biological Science Database This link opens in a new window
Research on animal behavior, aquatic life and fisheries, biochemistry, ecology, plant science, toxicology, virology, microbiology, health and safety science, entomology, and more. (NC LIVE)
Health & Medical Collection This link opens in a new window
Clinical research plus consumer and health administration titles. (NC LIVE)
Health and Wellness | Gale This link opens in a new window
Search a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to alternative medical practices. (Gale)
Healthcare Administration Database This link opens in a new window
Research supporting professional healthcare management and healthcare administration. (NC LIVE)
Health and Medicine | Gale OneFile This link opens in a new window
Find up-to-date information on a range of health care topics. Best for students, researchers, and health care professionals. (Gale)
Nursing and Allied Health | Gale OneFile This link opens in a new window
Research full-text titles cited in CINAHL and other resources to support specialized care, treatment, and patient management. (Gale)
Nursing & Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window
Journals and dissertations covering nursing, allied health, and alternative and complementary medicine. (NC LIVE)
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals, and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works. (NC LIVE)
Public Health Database This link opens in a new window
Search the core literature in the field of public health. (NC LIVE)
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive resource containing citations (some full-text) to biomedical articles and life science journals. (NC LIVE)

Diseases

MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window
Common diseases and conditions, health promotion and wellness, drugs info, medical dictionaries, and more. (NC LIVE)
Merck Manual Professional Version This link opens in a new window
Explains disorders, their symptoms, how they're diagnosed, and how they can be prevented or treated. For doctors and medical students. (NC LIVE)

Drugs

MedlinePlus Drugs, Herbs and Supplements This link opens in a new window
Guide to prescription and over-the-counter medications, herbs, and supplements. (NC LIVE)

eBooks

Ebook Central Academic and Public Library Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly titles supporting student and faculty research, and general nonfiction on topics such as school & studying, career development, arts & leisure, and practical life skills. (NC LIVE)
STAT!Ref This link opens in a new window
Click on "STAT!Ref" from the menu of options to access the resource, which is a cross-searchable collection of electronic resources for healthcare professionals. (Not a Gale or NC LIVE resource)

Tests

LearningExpress Library Complete and PrepSTEP This link opens in a new window
Practice tests, interactive tutorials, and ebooks for students adult learners. Includes practices tests such as GED, GRE, SAT, TEAS, and supports those looking to improve core academic skills, pass a high school equivalency test, prepare for college, join the military, obtain occupational certification, find a job, change careers, become a U.S. citizen and much more. (NC LIVE)

Health Information Technology Internet Sources

American Academy of Professional Coders
"AAPC was founded in 1988 to provide education and professional certification to physician-based medical coders and to elevate the standards of medical coding by providing training, certification, networking, and job opportunities."
American Association of Healthcare Administrative Management
"The American Association of Healthcare Administrative Management (AAHAM) is the premier professional organization in healthcare administrative management."
American Health Information Management Association
"The American Health Information Management Association (AHIMA) is the premier association of health information management (HIM) professionals worldwide."
Association for Healthcare Documentation Integrity
"AHDI continues to lead, educate, and advocate for professional excellence and integrity in healthcare documentation policies and practices."
Association for Rural Health Professional Coding
"Association for Rural Health Professional Coding (ARHPC) is a membership and education organization dedicated to providing quality education to rural health professionals and clinicians, including the nation’s only rural health coding credentials, for those who serve America’s under-served patients at Rural Health Clinics (RHCs) and Federally Qualified/Community Health Centers (FQHCs)."
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Resources about diseases, conditions, and other special topics, with health immunizations and recommendations for travelers worldwide.
For the Record Magazine
For the Record magazine provides "in-depth reporting on relevant and timely subjects, including coding, transcription, clinical documentation, EMRs/EHRs, technological innovations, and compliance and privacy concerns."
Go Ask Alice!
Go Ask Alice! answers questions about alcohol & other drugs; emotional health; fitness & nutrition; general health; relationships; and sexual & reproductive health.
Healthfinder
Journals, magazines, and medical dictionaries on minority health, as well as prevention and self-care on a variety of topics such as pregnancy, HIV, diabetes, women's health, and more.
HIPAA for Professionals | US Department of Health & Human Services
An overview of HIPAA for professionals working with patients.
HIV InSite
Up-to-date information on HIV/AIDS treatment, prevention, and policy. Includes information on HIV in other areas of the world.
Internet Journal of Allied Health Sciences and Practice
"The Internet Journal of Allied Health Sciences and Practice is an internationally peer-reviewed, open-access, scholarly, online journal dedicated to the global exploration of allied health professional practice, research, and education."
KidsHealth
Information about children from before birth through adolescence. Topics include: emotional development, nutrition, parenting, first aid, and infections.
MayoClinic | Patient Care and Health Information
Health education to patients and the general public on topics such as autism, influenza, bipolar disorder, breast cancer, smoking, depression, and more.
MedicalBillingAndCoding.org
"MB&CC is your source for vital information on medical billing and coding."
Medical Coding Study Guide | Quizlet
Flashcards for 44 medical coding terms.
Merck Manual Consumer Version
Explains disorders, their symptoms, how they're diagnosed, and how they can be prevented or treated.
Merck Manual Consumer Version | Pronunciations
A comprehensive list of audio files that help with pronunciations of medical terms.
National Cancer Institute
Comprehensive descriptions of cancer research programs and clinical trials.
National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health
Complementary and alternative healing practices such as aromatherapy, acupuncture, and herbal medicine. Offers resources and pamphlets.
National Institute of Mental Health
Symptoms, diagnosis, and treatment of various mental illnesses. Includes brochures, information sheets, reports, press releases, and fact sheets.
National Institute on Aging (NIA)
Aging-related health information for family members and friends seeking easy to understand online health information.
North Carolina Division of Public Health
Information on health precautions, links to local health departments, how to get birth certificates.
Professional Education | UNC Lineberger Cancer Network
"The UNC Lineberger Cancer Network offers FREE continuing education credits (CME, NCPD/CNE, ACPE, ASRT, and CTR) for healthcare professionals throughout North Carolina. All webinars feature UNC faculty and other oncology professionals to deliver webinars on the latest treatments, clinical trials, and supportive services available to North Carolina cancer patients."
Testing.com
"Testing.com is a health information web resource designed to help patients and caregivers understand the many lab tests that are a vital part of medical care. Our goal is to help patients access reliable testing information so they can make informed decisions about their health."
Web's Free ICD-9-CM Medical Coding Reference
"ICD9Data.com takes the current ICD-9-CM and HCPCS medical billing codes and adds 5.3+ million links between them."
Women's Health
Resource on women’s health topics: pregnancy, body image, HIV/AIDS, girls' health, heart health, menopause, mental health, quitting smoking, and domestic violence.

Health Information Technology: Home

Health Information Technology Books @ BCC Library

Navigation

Health Information Technology Databases @ BCC Library

Anatomy

Articles

Diseases

Drugs

eBooks

Tests

Health Information Technology Internet Sources