Skip to Main Content
chat now!

Faculty Guide: How to Link to Database Resources: Home

This guide demonstrates how to link to articles, ebooks, videos, etc., from subscription databases for use in Moodle and other online systems.

Overview

Linking in Moodle to resources from NC LIVE (or other subscription) databases is quick and easy, provided you use the correct URL. The location bar URL is usually unique to your particular internet browsing session and will often expire. If you use that link in Moodle, your users will be brought to an error page. The following screenshots highlight the correct URL to use for the major databases. But don't hesitate to contact the library if you have questions about a resource not listed below.

And keep in mind: when you link to these resources, your end user will likely have to log in to the database first before being brought to the intended resource -- especially if s/he is accessing your Moodle page from off campus. So make sure to sign your classes up for library instruction sessions (BCC Library Instruction Session Request Form) so your students will know what those passwords are!

Don't Use This

ProQuest Central

  • Don't use the location bar URL

Screenshot of incorrect URL to use in Moodle

Use These Instead

ProQuest Central

  • Click into the full record of the resource you want to link to
  • Click on the "Abstract/Details" tab
  • Scroll down to "Document URL"
  • Copy and paste that URL into Moodle

Screenshot of "Abstracts/Details" tab

 

Screenshot of "Document URL"

 

African American Poetry

  • Click into the full record of the resource you want to link to
  • Click on "Durable URL for this text" link
  • Copy and paste the URL in the resulting pop-up window

"Durable URL for this text" image from African American Poetry database

Pop-up window from African American Poetry database

 

Ebook Central

  • Click into the full record of the resource you want to link to
  • Click on the "Share Link to Book" link
  • Copy and paste the URL in the resulting pop-up window

"Share Link to Book" from Ebook Central database

Ebook Central pop-up window

 

 

Films on Demand Video Collection

  • Click into the full record of the resource you want to link to
  • Click on the "Link" link
  • Copy and paste the "Record URL" in the resulting pop-up window

Films on Demand Video Collection "Link"

Films on Demand Video Collection Record URL

 

Gale Literary Sources

  • Click into the full record of the resource you want to link to
  • Click on the "Bookmark" button near the top of the page
  • Copy and paste the URL in the resulting pop-up window

"Bookmark" from Gale Literary Sources database

Gale Literary Sources URL

 

Opposing Viewpoints

  • Click into the full record of the resource you want to link to
  • Click on the "Get Link" button near the top of the page
  • Copy and paste the URL in the resulting pop-up window

"Get Link" from Opposing Viewpoints database

Opposing Viewpoints pop-up window