"The Bellamy Mansion Museum of History and Design Arts is a non-profit educational institution dedicated to interpreting the social and architectural history of the Bellamy Mansion and promoting a greater understanding of historic preservation, architectural history and restoration methods in North Carolina."
"The Cape Fear Council of Governments plans and administers a variety of federal, state and local programs in Region O covering Brunswick, Columbus, New Hanover and Pender Counties. We work under the direction of a delegation of locally elected officials representing member governments and are proud of our cooperative relationship with both the public and private sectors in our region. This coordinated effort promotes success through regional partnerships that help meet the needs of our citizens."
"The Federal Point Historic Preservation Society was formed on March 28,1994, for the purpose of bringing together persons interested in the history of Federal Point Township and who wished to make a contribution in documenting and preserving North Carolina history."
"Founded in 1989, The Historical Society of Topsail Island preserves and interprets artifacts, photos, and documents concerning the fascinating history of Topsail Island for the education and enjoyment of the public."
"[A] member-supported 501(c)(3) historic preservation nonprofit with a mission to preserve and protect the irreplaceable in New Hanover, Pender, and Brunswick counties."
"Juneteenth recognizes African American freedom and emphasizes education and achievement. It's a time for communities to come together for reflection and rejoicing. In cities across the country, and internationally, people of all races, nationalities and religions are joining hand to truthfully acknowledge a period in our history that shaped and continues to influence our society today."
"Welcome to Brunswick County Library System! We have five branches across Brunswick County, offering books, magazines, movies, audiobooks, and music CDs for loan. We also offer computer access, educational and community events, and eBooks. Temporary library cards are available to seasonal and part-time residents visiting for at least one month."
A "focus on the heritage and history of the people, places, culture, and natural environment of the Cape Fear region, the City of Wilmington, and the great state of North Carolina."
BCC Library donated some Brunswick County-related materials to the Local History Room in an effort to consolidate Brunswick County history in a single accessible repository.
"The Lower Cape Fear Historical Society has been dedicated to the preservation of history since its inception in 1956. We are a 501(c)3 not for profit organization that relies on community support, which allows the LCFHS to operate the Latimer House, develop exhibits, present educational programs, preserve our archives and collections, and provide the community with educational resources about the history of the Lower Cape Fear region."
"The Division of State History Museums collects and preserves artifacts and other historical materials relating to the history and heritage of North Carolina in a local, regional, national and international context to assist people in understanding how the past influences the present."
"The Southport Historical Society is a non-profit, tax-exempt organization registered under 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code dedicated to bringing together persons interested in local area history. SHS endeavors to do so by providing opportunities for learning through programs and special events; published articles and books; educational classes; and community projects that will both enhance and preserve the unique history and heritage of Southport and the surrounding area."
"The chapter is dedicated to historical preservation, promotion of education, and the encouragement of patriotic endeavor. We promote American history throughout the year by honoring historically significant people, places, and events. We also support a variety of educational programs, contests, and awards and encourage family history research."
"Our mission is to tell the story of Wrightsville Beach through the years and across a range of experiences. We tell the stories of the pure joy of children playing in the surf, teenagers at the piers, nights at Lumina, as well as the struggles between progress and remaining true to the spirit of our past. We link the past to the present, valuing both."
The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) provides access to millions of photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more from libraries, archives, and museums across the United States. Find primary sources to use in school projects, academic research, family history research, and more. (NC LIVE)
Digital Sanborn Maps (1867-1970) for North Carolina delivers detailed property and land-use records that depict the grid of everyday life in 158 North Carolina towns and cities across a century of change. (NC LIVE)
Digital Sanborn Maps (1867-1970) for North Carolina provides digital access to 816 large-scale maps of 158 North Carolina towns and cities, including Asheville, Charlotte, Durham, Raleigh, Winston-Salem and many others. Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps are the most frequently consulted maps in public and academic libraries. Founded in 1867 by D. A. Sanborn, the Sanborn Map Company was the primary American publisher of fire insurance maps for nearly 100 years. The maps were originally compiled to help insurers assess the value of property, identify risk factors, and underwrite losses. These maps contain detailed data such as building outlines, size, use, construction details, and function of structures. They also give street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, house and block numbers, and other features like pipelines, railroads, wells and dumps. Historians, urban planners, architects, environmentalists, geographers, genealogists, and others will find the maps a valuable tool for exploring the grid of everyday life in the United States across a century of change.
Treasury of American genealogical sources: unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids. Includes historical census, PERSI, Revolutionary War records, and more. (NC LIVE)
Ebooks from a variety of North Carolina publishers. Includes popular and scholarly nonfiction, novels by well-known NC authors, and award-winning short fiction and poetry. (NC LIVE)
Women's writings from the Colonial period to 1950. Includes writings by Abigail Adams, Louisa May Alcott, Susan B. Anthony, Clara Barton, Dorothea L. Dix, Julia Ward Howe, and more. (NC LIVE)
Search or browse Our State magazine, North Carolina's premier travel, food, and culture publication celebrating the best of life in the state. Every issue from 1933 to 2018 is online in the North Carolina Digital Collections, and articles and advertisements are full-text searchable. (NC LIVE)
"Guide to Brunswick County, North Carolina ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records."
A hub for historical information about Brunswick County, with link to resources in the following categories: Images, Memorabilia, Audiovisual, and Newspapers.
Information about "Social & Economic Factors," "Physical Environment," "Health Behaviors," "Clinical Care," and "Health Outcomes" for Brunswick County.
"A major pre-Revolutionary port on North Carolina's Cape Fear River, Brunswick was razed by British troops in 1776 and never rebuilt. During the Civil War, Fort Anderson was constructed atop the old village site, and served as part of the Cape Fear River defenses below Wilmington before the fall of the Confederacy. Colonial foundations dot the present-day tour trail, which crosses the earthworks of the Confederate fort."
Information about "Social & Economic Factors," "Physical Environment," "Health Behaviors," "Clinical Care," and "Health Outcomes" for the Cape Fear Region.
"CoastalReview.org is an award-winning, nonprofit news service providing unbiased, in-depth and investigative reporting about issues on the North Carolina coast."
A historical overview of NC historical societies written by H. G. Jones, with contributions by Edwin R. Andrews, Robert F. Durden, Christopher E. Hendricks, and Beverly Tetterton.
"Presentation for the Brunswick Environmental Action Team, January 4, 2021" by Mr. Brayton Willis, Chairman, Gullah Geechee Cultural Heritage Corridor
Multi-Use Greenway/Blueway Trail Project and Life Member, Brunswick County Branch, NAACP.
"Presentation to the Cape Fear RPO RTCC, September 2, 2020" by Mr. Brayton Willis, Chairman, Gullah Geechee Cultural Heritage Corridor, Multi-Use Greenway/Blueway Trail Project and Life Member, Brunswick County Branch, NAACP.
"An online service of the Southport Historical Society" making many local historical documents accessible, including oral histories, timelines, and newsletters.
"Through this site, we hope to provide a glimpse into some of the unique collections available in the State Archives and to engage you in helping us put names and dates to some of our unidentified and poorly identified photographs."
"The Clerk to the Board of Commissioners keeps a copy of Brunswick County ordinances, available for inspection in the Clerk to the Board’s office. Brunswick County’s ordinances may also be viewed online in their entirety."
"The State Library of North Carolina’s Government and Heritage Library teamed up with Wake Forest University’s Z. Smith Reynolds Library for RootsMOOC, a massive open online course on starting genealogical research."
NHCPL Local History Room Donation
BCC Library donated Brunswick County-related materials to the NHCPL Local History Room in 2020 in order to promote better accessibility and long-term preservation of these documents. The donation included the paper Family Bible Collection, as well as various microfilm reels (outlined in the PDF file below).
