Library Portal: Medical Assisting: Home

Learn how to log in to library resources off campus!

Summon

Navigation

Consumer Health | Databases: Anatomy - Articles - Consumer Health - Drugs - eBooks | Internet Sources

About Consumer Health/Health Literacy

Consumer health informatics (Wikipedia)
"Consumer health informatics (CHI) is a sub-branch of health informatics that helps bridge the gap between patients and health resources."
Health literacy (Wikipedia)
"Health literacy is the ability to obtain, read, understand and use healthcare information to make appropriate health decisions and follow instructions for treatment."

Medical Assisting Databases @ BCC Library

Anatomy

Anatomy.tv | Powered by Primal Pictures
Click on "Anatomy and Physiology" from the menu of options to access the resource, which is "[f]or people at the start of their medical career, a guided learning resource with ground-breaking content and easily digested bite‑size topics that tell you everything you need to know about A&P. Clinical sections, case studies, the effects of aging and quizzes make this a product like no other." (Not a Gale or NC LIVE resource)

Articles

Consumer Health Database
Magazines and journals covering consumer health topics, such as sports injuries, women's health, food and nutrition, midwifery, eye care, and dentistry. (NC LIVE)
Health & Medical Collection
Clinical research plus consumer and health administration titles. (NC LIVE)
Gale Health and Wellness
Search a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to alternative medical practices. (Gale)
Health and Medicine | Gale OneFile
Find up-to-date information on a range of health care topics. Best for students, researchers, and health care professionals. (Gale)
ProQuest Central
General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals, and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works. (NC LIVE)
ProQuest Research Library
General reference database from business and political science to literature and psychology scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and daily news content, accessible to readers and researchers at every level. (NC LIVE)

Consumer Health

MedlinePlus
Common diseases and conditions, health promotion and wellness, drugs info, medical dictionaries, and more. (NC LIVE)

Drugs

MedlinePlus Drugs, Herbs and Supplements
Guide to prescription and over-the-counter medications, herbs, and supplements. (NC LIVE)
Pharmacology World
"Pharmacology World has one of the most complete collections of teaching videos focused on pharmacology created by renowned expert, Dr. Michael Lee." (Not a Gale or NC LIVE resource)

eBooks

Ebook Central Academic and Public Library Complete
Scholarly titles supporting student and faculty research, and general nonfiction on topics such as school & studying, career development, arts & leisure, and practical life skills. (NC LIVE)

Medical Assisting Internet Sources

American Association of Medical Assistants
"The mission of the American Association of Medical Assistants is to provide the medical assistant professional with education, certification, credential acknowledgment, networking opportunities, scope-of-practice protection, and advocacy for quality patient-centered health care."
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Resources about diseases, conditions, and other special topics, with health immunizations and recommendations for travelers worldwide.
Centros para el Control y Prevención de Enfermedades
Información y recursos para mantener la salud y prevenir enfermedades.
Go Ask Alice!
Go Ask Alice! answers questions about alcohol & other drugs; emotional health; fitness & nutrition; general health; relationships; and sexual & reproductive health.
Health & Wellness Information Center (NC LIVE)
A portal for health and wellness resources geared toward consumers. Browse information by topic and format, or conduct searches. (NC LIVE)
Healthfinder
Journals, magazines, and medical dictionaries on minority health, as well as prevention and self-care on a variety of topics such as pregnancy, HIV, diabetes, women's health, and more.
Healthfinder en español
Noticias y herramientas interactivas para mantenerse saludable con información de organizaciones gubernamentales. Journals, magazines, and medical dictionaries on minority health, as well as prevention and self-care on a variety of topics such as pregnancy, HIV, diabetes, women's health, and more. In Spanish.
HIPAA for Professionals | US Department of Health & Human Services
An overview of HIPAA for professionals working with patients.
HIV InSite
Up-to-date information on HIV/AIDS treatment, prevention, and policy. Includes information on HIV in other areas of the world.
KidsHealth
Information about children from before birth through adolescence. Topics include: emotional development, nutrition, parenting, first aid, and infections.
MayoClinic | Patient Care and Health Information
Health education to patients and the general public on topics such as autism, influenza, bipolar disorder, breast cancer, smoking, depression, and more.
Medical Assistants | Occupational Outlook Handbook
From the US Bureau of Labor Statistics: "The OOH can help you find career information on duties, education and training, pay, and outlook for hundreds of occupations."
Merck Manual Consumer Version
Explains disorders, their symptoms, how they're diagnosed, and how they can be prevented or treated.
Merck Manual Consumer Version | Pronunciations
A comprehensive list of audio files that help with pronunciations of medical terms.
National Cancer Institute
Comprehensive descriptions of cancer research programs and clinical trials.
National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health
Complementary and alternative healing practices such as aromatherapy, acupuncture, and herbal medicine. Offers resources and pamphlets.
National Institute of Mental Health
Symptoms, diagnosis, and treatment of various mental illnesses. Includes brochures, information sheets, reports, press releases, and fact sheets.
National Institute on Aging (NIA)
Aging-related health information for family members and friends seeking easy to understand online health information.
North Carolina Division of Public Health
Information on health precautions, links to local health departments, how to get birth certificates.
North Carolina State Society of Medical Assistants
"An affiliate of the American Association of
Medical Assistants."
Off the Charts | American Journal of Nursing Blog
"Posts draw attention to important research findings, policy controversies, clinical practices and challenges, public health news, nursing career issues, and moving personal stories told by both nurses and patients."
Professional Education | UNC Lineberger Cancer Network
"The UNC Lineberger Cancer Network offers FREE continuing education credits (CME, NCPD/CNE, ACPE, ASRT, and CTR) for healthcare professionals throughout North Carolina. All webinars feature UNC faculty and other oncology professionals to deliver webinars on the latest treatments, clinical trials, and supportive services available to North Carolina cancer patients."
Study for the Exam | American Association of Medical Assistants
Study resources for the CMA (AAMA) Certification/Recertification Examination.
Testing.com
"Testing.com is a health information web resource designed to help patients and caregivers understand the many lab tests that are a vital part of medical care. Our goal is to help patients access reliable testing information so they can make informed decisions about their health."
Women's Health
Resource on women’s health topics: pregnancy, body image, HIV/AIDS, girls' health, heart health, menopause, mental health, quitting smoking, and domestic violence.

Medical Assisting: Home

Medical Assisting Books @ BCC Library

Summon

Navigation

About Consumer Health/Health Literacy

Medical Assisting Databases @ BCC Library

Anatomy

Articles

Consumer Health

Drugs

eBooks

Medical Assisting Internet Sources