Library Portal: ENG 111/011: Writing & Inquiry: Home

Alert

Learn how to log into library resources off campus!

Navigation

Literary Analysis | Rhetorical Analysis | Helpful Tools

Literary Analysis Resources

Gale Literary Sources This link opens in a new window
Combines Literature Resource Center with Gale Virtual Reference Library in one interface. Articles, critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, and biographies covering authors, their works, and literary movements. (NC LIVE)
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Find up-to-date biographies, overviews, full-text criticisms, audio interviews, and reviews on writers from all eras. (NC LIVE)
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals, and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works. (NC LIVE)
ProQuest Learning: Literature This link opens in a new window
Full-text works of poetry, prose and drama, and secondary sources such as author biographies, literary criticisms, essays, reviews and interviews. Designed with schools and public libraries in mind. (NC LIVE)

Rhetorical Analysis Resources

Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Quickly access articles from a database of scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals. Best for academic research. Extensive coverage in biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology. (Gale)
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Reports on issues shaping our world, with in-depth coverage of political and social issues, such as health, education, the environment, technology, and the US economy. (NC LIVE)
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
A premier virtual reference collection including research tutorials, encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, images, audio files, and videos in a wide expanse of subject areas. (NC LIVE)
Ebook Central Academic and Public Library Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly titles supporting student and faculty research, and general nonfiction on topics such as school & studying, career development, arts & leisure, and practical life skills. (NC LIVE)
Global Issues | Gale in Context This link opens in a new window
Analyze important global issues and events through topic overviews, international viewpoints, news, and multimedia content. (Gale)
Opposing Viewpoints | Gale in Context This link opens in a new window
Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues. (Gale)
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals, and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works. (NC LIVE)
SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
Research the pros and cons of current issues and enduring social issues through full-text articles, multimedia, primary sources, government documents, and reference materials. (NC LIVE)

Helpful Tools

Capitalize My Title
A site that will format your titles according to APA, MLA, Chicago, and AP styles.
Citation Builder | NCSU Libraries
This site helps with citations in APA 7, MLA 7, MLA 8, Chicago (author-date), and CSE/CBE (author-date).
Purdue OWL
Use this site for help with MLA, APA, and other citation styles
Student Guide to Academic Writing & Research
"This guide provides information on the types of essays they may be required to write, how to conduct research and strategies for effective proofreading."