Library Portal: ENG 231/232: American Literature: Home

ENG 231/232 Databases @ BCC Library

Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
Journal database covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre, and Cultural Studies. (NC LIVE)
Gale Literary Sources This link opens in a new window
Combines Literature Resource Center with Gale Virtual Reference Library in one interface. Articles, critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, and biographies covering authors, their works, and literary movements. (NC LIVE)
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Find up-to-date biographies, overviews, full-text criticisms, audio interviews, and reviews on writers from all eras. (NC LIVE)
LitFinder | Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
Access literary works and authors throughout history, including full-text poems, plays, short stories, speeches, and more. (Gale)
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals, and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works. (NC LIVE)
ProQuest Learning: Literature This link opens in a new window
Full-text works of poetry, prose and drama, and secondary sources such as author biographies, literary criticisms, essays, reviews and interviews. Designed with schools and public libraries in mind. (NC LIVE)

ABC-CLIO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Collection of ebooks covering history and literary criticism. Includes a large collection of slave narratives.
Ebook Central Academic and Public Library Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly titles supporting student and faculty research, and general nonfiction on topics such as school & studying, career development, arts & leisure, and practical life skills. (NC LIVE)
eBooks on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Over 26,000 fiction, reference, scholarly, and professional books online. (NC LIVE)

African American Poetry This link opens in a new window
Poems from 1750 to 1900 including Lucy Terry Prince, Phillis Wheatley, Jupiter Hammon, Paul Laurence Dunbar, and more. (NC LIVE)
American Poetry This link opens in a new window
Find poems written from 1650 to 1920. Includes Anne Bradstreet, Emily Dickinson, Edgar Allan Poe, Phillis Wheatley, Walt Whitman, and Herman Melville. (NC LIVE)
Twentieth-Century African American Poetry This link opens in a new window
Sixty-two of the most important African American poets of the last century: Langston Hughes, Jean Toomer, Imamu Amiri Baraka, Audre Lorde, and Rita Dove. (NC LIVE)
Twentieth-Century American Poetry This link opens in a new window
A database of modern and contemporary American poetry from the early twentieth century to the present. Presently includes 36,000 poems drawn from 460 volumes by 217 poets. (NC LIVE)