Library Portal: HIS 111/112: World Civilizations: Find Primary Sources

Document Databases @BCC

History Study Center This link opens in a new window
A collection of primary and secondary sources on global history from ancient times to the present day. (NC LIVE)
North American Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
Women's writings from the Colonial period to 1950. Includes writings by Abigail Adams, Louisa May Alcott, Susan B. Anthony, Clara Barton, Dorothea L. Dix, Julia Ward Howe, and more. (NC LIVE)
World History | Gale in Context This link opens in a new window
Uncover information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in world history from a variety of sources. (Gale)

Maps, Available Online | Library of Congress
Search for maps by format, date, location, contributor, collection, subject, and/or language.
Prints & Photographs Online Catalog - Library of Congress
Find historical photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings.
Media Library - World History Encyclopedia
Find maps, photographs, and 3D images of artifacts from around the world and across historical eras.
UT Libraries' Map Collection
Find maps from the University of Texas Libraries (including the Perry-Castaneda Library collection).

Global Breaking Newswires This link opens in a new window
Global Breaking Newswires provides timely access to newswire content from around the globe as well as growing archive of news. (NC LIVE)
International Newsstream This link opens in a new window
International Newsstream provides information from more than 660 of the world's top newspapers.
News | Gale OneFile This link opens in a new window
Access major U.S. and international newspapers online to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, or other fields. (Gale)

Digital Library Directory
Find best digital library collections around the world.
Europeana
Provides "...access to millions of items from providing institutions across Europe. Discover artworks, books, music, and videos on art, newspapers, archaeology, fashion, science, sport, and much more."
World Digital Library | Library of Congress
The World Digital Library seeks "...to preserve and share some of the world’s most important cultural objects, increasing access to cultural treasures and significant historical documents to enable discovery, scholarship, and use."

Google Arts & Culture
Explore collections around the world. Curated by Google Cultural Institute.
Internet History Sourcebooks Project | Fordham University
Search "...a collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented cleanly (without advertising or excessive layout) for educational use. Primary sources are available here mainly for use in high-school and university/college courses."
EuroDocs: Online Sources for European History | BYU
Links connect to European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. Includes video or sound files, maps, photographs or other imagery, databases, and other documentation.
The sources cover a broad range of historical happenings (political, economic, social and cultural).