Library Portal: HIS 111/112: World Civilizations: Find Background

General Reference Databases @BCC

College | Gale in Context This link opens in a new window
An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on a wide array of subjects. (Gale)
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
A premier virtual reference collection including research tutorials, encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, images, audio files, and videos in a wide expanse of subject areas. (NC LIVE)
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Quickly access articles from a database of scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals. Best for academic research. Extensive coverage in biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology. (Gale)
History Study Center This link opens in a new window
A collection of primary and secondary sources on global history from ancient times to the present day. (NC LIVE)
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals, and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works. (NC LIVE)

Maps, Available Online | Library of Congress
Search for maps by format, date, location, contributor, collection, subject, and/or language.
Prints & Photographs Online Catalog - Library of Congress
Find historical photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings.
Media Library - World History Encyclopedia
Find maps, photographs, and 3D images of artifacts from around the world and across historical eras.
UT Libraries' Map Collection
Find maps from the University of Texas Libraries (including the Perry-Castaneda Library collection).